LEGAL HELP FOR YOUR DUI CHARGE
For many individuals an arrest for DUI is the first time they have been charged with a criminal act. It can be a very scary time for an individual who is left wondering what will happen next.
First Time Offenders
It can be a very scary time when you are left wondering what will happen next.
In Pennsylvania if you are charged with a DUI and have not ever had another criminal charge you may be able to apply for and gain acceptance into a program called Accelerated Rehabilitation Disposition (ARD), this program may consist of the following:
(1) restitution for any damage;
Many times individuals opt to represent themselves when facing a first time DUI. This is not the best course of action as that individual may simply take any offer thrown at them, or may have a valid defense to the charge. Further, if the process goes afoul they may have made a mistake or mistakes leaving themselves vulnerable.
Admission into the ARD program is based on numerous factors including but not limited to criminal history.
Underage Drinking and Driving
Even good kids make mistakes.
Unfortunately, some mistakes could have a dramatic negative impact on their future. As such it is imperative that you contact a Pittsbrugh DUI Lawyer.
In the case of underage drinking and driving it is absolutely imperative that every avenue and defense is fully explored, because a conviction for DUI could have a dramatic impact on a young adult’s future.
It is very important to look into the facts surrounding the arrest, as well as exploring all available programs to mitigate the charges. In some cases an individual may seek admission into Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition (ARD), and if granted the charges will ultimately be expunged.
In all cases it makes sense to hire an attorney since this is a young adult future that is at stake.
Second and Subsequent DUI Lawyer
A second or subsequent DUI is a very serious charge in Pennsylvania and besides a license suspension can carry jail time ranging from 48 hours to 5 years depending on the individuals blood alcohol level, and/or the presence of a controlled substance in their body.
In Pennsylvania the look back period to determine if this is a second or subsequent DUI is within ten years, and a previous ARD plea is counted as a previous DUI.
You may have a defense or defenses to the charges you are facing including but not limited to suppression of the stop and/or evidence. Many times an individual believes there are no defenses and simply plea guilty. This may be a mistake and an attorney may be able to assist you in getting the best plea offer and minimizing your exposure to jail time.
Driving on a DUI Suspended Licence
If you are caught and convicted of driving on a DUI suspended license you face a mandatory jail sentence.
Driving on a DUI Suspended License is a serious matter. Many individuals mistakenly think this is “just a traffic ticket,” this is simply not the case. The charge of Driving on a DUI Suspended License, will not only cost the individual additional license suspension, it carries a mandatory minimum period of incarceration. We are successful in beating the charge, and/or reducing the penalties associated with Driving on a DUI Suspended License. Further, if you have been convicted of Driving on a DUI Suspended License, there is a limited amount of time to appeal the decision from the Magistrate to the Court of Common Pleas.